Skip to Content

Why did I just get a blue alert on my phone?

A blue alert on your phone can generally mean one of two things. The first is that you have been exposed to someone who tested positive for COVID-19. Through contact tracing, your phone was sent a notification to alert you that you had come into close contact with a person who tested positive and to take the necessary precautions to stay safe.

The other reason you might receive a blue alert on your phone is if your local area has issued an emergency alert. For example, in the event of a severe weather event or some other type of natural disaster, a blue alert may be sent to you in order to provide warning and updates.

These notifications are sent out in order to protect communities and keep people safe.

What are the different alert colors in Texas?

The colors used for the various alert levels in Texas are Low (green), Elevated (yellow), High (orange), Severe (red), and Critical (purple).

Low (green) is the highest alert level, used to signify that there is no immediate risk of terrorism in the state. This is the lowest level of alert and is often used to reassure the public that all is well.

Elevated (yellow) is the second highest alert level in Texas and is used to signify that there is a significant risk of terrorist activity in the state. This alert does not indicate a specific threat but rather a heightened risk of potential terrorist activity.

High (orange) is the third highest alert level in Texas and is used to signify that a substantial risk of terrorist activity exists in the state and that specific anti-terrorism measures, such as increased public vigilance, are required.

Severe (red) is the fourth highest alert level in Texas and is used to signify that a severe risk of terrorist activity exists in the state and that increased levels of security are required.

Critical (purple) is the fifth highest alert level in Texas and is used to signify that an imminent threat of terrorist activity exists in the state and that all necessary steps must be taken to protect the public.

What are the 3 types of emergency alerts?

The three types of emergency alerts are Imminent Threat Alerts, Presidential Alerts, and AMBER Alerts.

Imminent Threat Alerts are created to warn the public of dangerous weather, such as tornadoes, tsunamis, and flash floods. These warnings are issued by the National Weather Service.

Presidential Alerts are issued by the President of the United States and can be sent to all phones in the country to warn of a natural disaster, terrorist attack, or other crisis.

AMBER Alerts (America’s Missing: Broadcast Emergency Response) are issued by law enforcement agencies when a child has been abducted. They are broadcast over radio, television, and cell phones and include specific information about the child, abductor, and potential vehicle used in the abduction.

What is a purple alert?

A purple alert is a public awareness and education campaign set up to help recognize, respond and report signs of elder abuse. Elder abuse can include physical abuse, neglect, financial exploitation, sexual abuse and more.

The purpose of the purple alert is to make sure that those who are most vulnerable—older adults—are protected and that their friends, family and neighbors are aware of what signs to look for and how to identify signs of abuse.

It also encourages community members to take action if they suspect abuse is occurring. The use of the color purple in the campaign is meant to symbolize safety, respect and solidarity with those affected by elder abuse.

The campaign was developed by the United States Department of Health and Human Services and is available for use in all states.

What states have a blue alert?

Blue Alerts are an emergency notification system in the United States that broadcasts when a law enforcement officer has been injured or killed in the line of duty, or when a suspect has critically injured or killed a law enforcement officer and is still at large.

There are currently 21 states that have implemented a Blue Alert system: Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, Oklahoma, Oregon, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, and Virginia.

There are also several states that are in the process of establishing their own Blue Alert plans in order to help protect law enforcement officers and keep communities safe.