Skip to Content

What are the 2 Confederate flags?

The two Confederate flags that are most commonly used are the Confederate battle flag and the Stars and Bars. The Confederate battle flag, also known as the “Southern Cross” or “Rebel Flag,” is a blue saltire (a St.

Andrew’s Cross) with 13 stars on a red field. It is the most recognized and iconic symbol of the Confederacy and is often referred to as a “rebel” flag.

The second Confederate flag is the Stars and Bars, a combination of the US flag’s stars and stripes and the Confederate battle flag. Its original design was rectangle in shape and included three horizontal strips of red, white and red with a blue square in the upper-left corner containing seven stars representing the seven states of the Confederacy.

The stars in the upper corner were replaced with a circular pattern of stars in 1864 in order to better distinguish it from the US flag. However, some Confederate soldiers continued to use the original Stars and Bars design.

What is the official flag of the Confederacy?

The official flag of the Confederate States of America was the Confederate Battle Flag, also known as the Southern Cross or the Rebel Flag. The flag was designed by William T. Thompson and first used in March 1861 at the start of the Civil War.

It has a solid blue field with a large red “X” in the middle of it. The X is composed of 13 white five-pointed stars, representing the Confederate’s 13 states that seceded from the Union. The colors of the flag are often interpreted to represent the colors of the Confederate States: White for the states, red for the courage and self-sacrifice of their citizens, and blue for the justice of their cause.

How many versions of the Confederate flag are there?

Depending on where it’s being used and what era it was created in. The Confederate Battle Flag is the most recognized version, featuring a blue “X” with white stars set on a red background. It was created in 1861 and was originally used as a naval jack in the Civil War, but has since become a widespread symbol of the Confederate States of America.

There is also the First National Flag of the Confederacy, also known as the Stars and Bars, which was the original official national flag of the Confederacy from 1861-1863. It features alternating bars of red and white, with a blue canton and seven white stars representing the original seven Confederate states.

The Second National Flag of the Confederacy, also known as the Stainless Banner, was adopted in 1863 and has a white background, with a red Saint Andrew’s cross in the canton and one star to represent each of the 11 Confederate states.

The Third National Flag, called the Blood-Stained Banner, was then adopted in 1865 with a field of red and white bars, with a blue canton bearing three white stars. The Fourth National Flag of the Confederacy, also known as the Hampton Flag, was briefly used from 1864-1865 and features a blue field with a white star to represent the 11 Confederate states, plus an additional star for Kentucky and Missouri.

Other versions include the Naval Jack of the Confederacy and the Battle Flag of Northern Virginia.

How much is an original Confederate flag worth?

The value of an original Confederate flag depends on its condition, age, and rarity. Generally speaking, an original Confederate flag in good condition can be worth anywhere from $250 to $20,000, although individual flags have sold for more than $50,000 in the past.

Some Confederate flags from the Civil War era are extremely rare, with only a few known to exist; the existing examples can fetch incredibly high prices. Highly sought after examples include parade flags, camp flags, and battlefield-used flags from the Civil War.

It is important to note, however, that such flags are extremely rare and are only occasionally available for sale. In addition to age and rarity, condition is an important factor in determining value; flags with minimal damage, tears, or bleaching from the sun tend to be worth the most.

What were the 2 flags in the Civil War?

The two flags that were used in the Civil War were the Flag of the United States of America (also known as the “Stars and Stripes”) and the Flag of the Confederate States of America (also known as the “Confederate Flag”).

The U. S. flag was composed of thirteen equal horizontal stripes of alternating red and white; and a blue canton with fifty five-pointed stars represents the joint efforts of individual states united under one federal republic.

The Confederate flag was a combination of the British Union Flag and various features mimicking the design of the U. S. flag, including the thirteen stripes, but with an additional vertical red bar at the hoist.

This design was finalized in 1869 and remains a symbol of the Confederacy to this day.

Is there a rebel flag emoji?

Unfortunately, there is not a rebel flag emoji. There are, however, other ways to express Southern pride and American pride online, including many popular country artist’s flags, or simply a picture or logo of a Confederate flag.

Additionally, some websites have a Confederate flag badge or patch that you can use as an avatar or profile image. Furthermore, many Southern pride shirts or apparel come with the Confederate flag logo or have other images of the flag that you can use when making a post online.

Lastly, you can choose from a variety of keyboard apps on both iOS and Android that offer Confederate flag stickers and other images that let you express your patriotism.

How many flags did Confederate regiments carry?

The number of flags Confederate regiments carried varied depending on the unit and the time period. Generally, each regiment carried two flags; its national flag of the Confederacy and an individual battle flag.

It was not uncommon for a regiment to carry more than two flags, however, as a third flag might be used to represent a particular figure or state. By the latter stages of the Civil War, field and staff officers would often carry one or more flags in the vicinity of a regiment’s battle line.

These flags, known as general flags, served to rally troops and give commanders a recognized symbol of authority. In some cases, regiments also carried a bucktail or guidon flag, which served to guide battalions and identify officers in the field.

In sum, a Confederate regiment may have carried up to four flags, including its national and battle flags, as well as officer and guidance flags.