Skip to Content

What is the power dribble in basketball?

The power dribble is an advanced move used in basketball to quickly maneuver around defenders and get to the basket for a layup or score. It involves using a series of quick, but powerful dribbles that can force the defender off balance or completely out of the way.

The power dribble is a combination of explosiveness and ball control that puts the defense in a very challenging position. To do this move, first you will have to have a good handle on the basketball.

Then you drive the ball forward in a strong and explosive manner, dribbling with both hands or alternating between them. You should also focus on maintaining control of the ball, avoiding any losses of possession in the process of maneuvering around the defender.

Once you reach the proper angle of attack on the defender, the ballhandler uses the power dribble to drive past them with the goal of getting to the basket. It takes practice and training to perfect, but it can be an extremely effective offensive weapon if executed properly.

How does a power dribble work?

A power dribble is a type of move used in basketball that involves combining speed and power to pass an opponent or to make a tough move to the basket. It’s used when a player needs to attack quickly and with a lot of strength.

The power dribble is initiated with a quick first step in order to gain momentum, accompanied by a strong, forceful dribble. This move can be done with either hand, depending on the situation and the player’s preference.

As soon as the power dribble is initiated, the player should work on bringing the ball low to the ground. This will shorten the distance for the defensive player to cover, making it easier for the offensive player to make quick moves or get a shot off.

It’s important to stay low and keep the dribble below the knee while also maintaining a wide base. Using your body to shield the ball from the defender is essential, but it’s important to remain in control.

From there, the offensive player can pull an up and under move, or a quick crossover, to beat the defender and make a play.

The power dribble can be practiced at different speeds so that a player can be ready for any situation. Once the ball handler is proficient, the power dribble can be a great tool for reigning victorious in any basketball game.

Is a power dribble a double?

No, a power dribble is not considered to be a double. A power dribble is a skill move in basketball and is also sometimes called a “pro hop” or a “jab step”. It is a move where the player holds the ball in one hand and takes a step and a hop towards the basket while at the same time they pretend to shoot the ball with their other hand.

This move is used to create space and can help a player avoid a defender while they move toward the basket.

Can you take 2 steps after power dribble?

Yes, after power dribbling, two steps are allowed. Once a player has taken two steps with the ball, they must shoot, pass or dribble the ball again. After power dribbling, the player can also use different moves such as a cross-over dribble or a spin move to get around a defender, but those moves are not allowed after the second step.

This rule applies to anyone on the court, including the dribbler, so the defender must also take two steps after the dribbler has taken two steps with the ball. Once the dribbler has taken two steps, any contact with the defender is considered a foul and the dribbler will be given the ball if the foul is an offensive foul.

What is a double dribble called?

A double dribble is a penalty in basketball that occurs when a player dribbles the ball with two hands at the same time or picks up their dribble and then begins to dribble again. This often results in a turnover, depending on the specific rule set of the game.

While double-dribbling itself is not necessarily considered a violation, the intention to continually dribble with the same hand is frowned upon. When double-dribbling is detected, the referee should stop play by blowing the whistle and awarding the ball to the other team.

Is a two handed power dribble legal?

Yes, a two handed power dribble is legal in basketball as long as the player adheres to the other rules and regulations surrounding the dribble. According to the official NBA rule book, the dribble should be continuous and the ball must always be kept on the floor and contacted by only one hand at a time.

The player is also not allowed to palm, carry, or rake the ball.

Additionally, a two handed power dribble can also be used when it is necessary for the offensive player to quickly protect the ball when pressured defensively. In this case, using both hands can be beneficial in terms of shielding the ball and keeping it away from the defender.

The player should also be mindful of the six second rule and make sure to have one of their hands on the ball and in contact with the floor at all times while they are dribbling.

Can you power dribble with two hands after dribbling?

Yes, it is possible to power dribble with two hands after dribbling. Power dribbling involves protecting the ball with explosive movements and changes of direction or speed. It is used to counter an opponent’s aggressive defense and can be done with one or two hands.

When power dribbling with two hands, both arms are used to protect the ball. The ball will be held higher and further away from the defender, making it difficult for them to steal the ball. The player should also use their body to shield the ball while they dribble.

This can be particularly beneficial when dealing with aggressive defenders. Power dribbling also allows a player to take quick and sharp turns or changes of direction to make it difficult for a defender to keep up.

It is an effective way for a player to create space and open up an opportunity to pass or shoot.

Has there ever been a 5 double in basketball?

Yes, there have been five-doubles in basketball. A five-double is a statistical feat in which a single player achieves double-digit numbers in five different statistical categories in a single game. These categories are typically points, rebounds, assists, steals, and blocks.

The first and only player to ever achieve a five-double in the NBA was Hall of Famer Hakeem Olajuwon in a Houston Rockets game against the Phoenix Suns on April 12th, 1990. Since then, there have been several other occurrences around the world.

In 2013, for example, Brazilian center Gerson Dos Santos recorded a five-double for Vitoria Futebol Clube in a Brazilian Cup game, recording 10 points, 13 rebounds, 12 assists, 11 steals, and 10 blocks.

How do you know if you double dribble?

A double dribble is when a player dribbles the ball, stops dribbling, starts back up again, or changes hands without passing or shooting the ball. This is an illegal move and results in a turnover. You can identify a double dribble when you see a player dribbling the ball and then either 1) stopping and picking up the ball with their hand, 2) switching hands while dribbling, or 3) starting to dribble again following a stoppage in play.

Additionally, if a player grabs the ball while they are standing, they are also committing a double dribble. It’s important to remember that you can take two steps without dribbling, but if you take a third step after you’re in the air, you can be called for a double dribble.

Can NBA players take 3 steps?

Yes, NBA players are allowed to take up to three steps when they have the ball in their possession. This rule is outlined in Section IX of the NBA Official Playing Rules, which states that a player may take two steps when he has the ball in his possession and an additional step if he “gathers” the ball.

A legal “gather” occurs when a player takes a step with his pivot foot and has control of the ball before taking a second step. As outlined in the rules, the player must also replace his pivot foot and begin dribbling for it to be considered a legal “gather” and for the player to be able to take an additional step.

Without completing a legal “gather,” players may only take two steps before passing, shooting, or dribbling the ball.

Can you step through after a Hopstep?

Yes, it is possible to step through after a Hopstep. A Hopstep is a dance move that combines a Hop and a Step. To do this move, you would start by hopping on one foot for a beat and then stepping onto the same foot for a beat before hopping onto the other foot for a beat and continuing to alternate feet like this.

After completing a Hopstep, you can proceed with a step through. This involves taking a step forward onto both feet with the left foot leading, then pressing down with the right foot to transfer your weight and bring the left foot beside the right, leading with the right foot into the next step.

Can you lift your pivot foot after dribbling?

Yes, you can lift your pivot foot after dribbling in basketball. In fact, it can be beneficial in certain situations such as when you need to quickly change direction or create separation from a defender.

However, it is important to note that if you lift your pivot foot before the ball leaves your hand, you will be called for a traveling violation. If a player is double-dribbling, then they will also be called for a violation.

A short, quick lift of the pivot foot is allowed, but it is important to keep the ball in contact with the floor or you will be called for traveling. Additionally, some basketball leagues may also impose a rule that players must keep their pivot foot in contact with the floor throughout their entire dribble.

Therefore, it is important to check the rules in your specific league before engaging in any basketball-related activities.

Can you step back before dribbling?

Yes, a player can step back before dribbling in basketball. When a player steps back they have the opportunity to create a defensive reshuffle, giving them space to attack from. When the defender thinks the offensive player is going to drive the lane, they will typically shift over and cut off any driving path.

By stepping back, it can confuse the defender and create space and angles for a more open look. When doing this it’s important for the offensive player to plan out the next move. If the offensive player steps back and does nothing, the defender will become more aggressive in defense.

This can be used not only to create offensive opportunities, but also to draw a defensive foul.